This is the "Selecting a Poem" page of the "Poetry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Poetry   Tags: poems, poetry, poets  

Last Updated: May 5, 2014 URL: http://dedham.libguides.com/poetry Print Guide RSS Updates

Selecting a Poem Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Suggested Poetry Anthologies

Cover Art
America's Favorite Poems - Robert Pinsky (Editor); Maggie Dietz (Editor)
Call Number: 808.81 AME
ISBN: 0393048209
Publication Date: 2000
Contains two hundred poems selected from the personal letters of thousands of Americans who responded to Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky's invitation to send him a favorite poem, and includes comments from the people who chose them.

Cover Art
An Invitation to Poetry - Robert Pinsky; Maggie Dietz (Editor)
Call Number: 808.81 PIN
ISBN: 039305876X
Publication Date: 2004
Contains a collection of two hundred poems and accompanying DVD that features twenty-seven Favorite Poem Project documentaries as seen on PBS read by a cross-section of the American populace, each speaking about his or her connection to the poem.

Cover Art
The 100 Best Poems of All Time - Leslie Pockell
Call Number: 808.81 POC
ISBN: 9780446676816
Publication Date: 2001
A collection of one hundred poems by one hundred poets, arranged in roughly chronological order of the author's birth, from the ninth century B.C.E. to the late twentieth century.

Cover Art
Voices: poetry and art from around the world - Barbara Brenner
Call Number: 808.81 VOI
ISBN: 0792270711
Publication Date: 2000
An anthology of poetry and art from sources on six continents.

Cover Art
100 Essential American Poems - Leslie M. Pockell (Editor)
Call Number: 811.008 100
ISBN: 9780312369804
Publication Date: 2009
A volume of classic works includes Poe's "The Raven," Longfellow's "Paul Revere's Ride," and Whitman's "When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloomed," in a collection that is complemented by poet introductions.

Cover Art
100 Essential Modern Poems by Women - Joseph Parisi
Call Number: 821 100
ISBN: 9781566637411
Publication Date: 2008
A collection of poems written by women authors over the last 150 years that the editors have deemed some of the most important, memorable poems of the time.

Cover Art
100 Great Poems of the Twentieth Century - Mark Strand
Call Number: 821.008 100
ISBN: 9780393058949
Publication Date: 2005
Collects poems from one hundred poets from the past century, including pieces from W.H. Auden, Federico García Lorca, and Maria Rilke.

 

DHS Library Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Poetry Websites

  • Favorite Poem Project: Americans Saying Poems They Love
    "The Favorite Poem Project is dedicated to celebrating, documenting and encouraging poetry’s role in Americans’ lives...This popular, award-winning website, features an interactive gallery for viewing the Favorite Poem videos and is a growing resource for teachers and communities."
  • The Poetry Archive
    "The Poetry Archive is the world's premier online collection of recordings of poets reading their work. You can enjoy listening here, free of charge, to the voices of contemporary English-language poets and poets from the past. The Archive is growing all the time."
  • The Poetry Foundation
    "The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience."
  • Poetry 180
    "Poetry 180 is designed to make it easy for students to hear or read a poem on each of the 180 days of the school year."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip