This is the "Assignment for Westward Expansion: Let's Go!" page of the "Westward Expansion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Westward Expansion  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2017 URL: http://dedham.libguides.com/WestwardExpansion Print Guide RSS Updates

Assignment for Westward Expansion: Let's Go! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview for Westward Expansion

The reference book Civil War Era and Reconstruction, available in eBook version below, provides overview articles on numerous Westward Settlement topcis.

Cover Art
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction : An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History - Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: eBook
(Please contact DHS Library for SOLR remote access password if needed.)

 

Westward Expansion

From Picasa
     

    Mr. Lydon's Westward Expansion Assignment

    http://dedham.libguides.com/WestwardExpansion

    Go to DHS website > DHS Library (under Links on right) > LibGuides (under Contents on left) > Assignments & Projects tab > Social Studies > Westward Expansion.

    Let's Go!   

    Americans first began heading west in the early 1800s.  By 1850 over 4 million settlers had crossed the Mississippi River and marked out farms on the richest land they could find.  As more farmers began to settle in the Midwest, people began looking toward California and Oregon.  Travelers needed to cross nearly 2,000 miles to get to the Pacific Coast.  Although the Oregon Trail was the most popular trail through the Great Plains, some emigrants used the California Trail as well.  The journey, which was usually made in covered wagons, was extremely difficult.  Supplies were often scarce, bad weather presented problems, and often trails were not well marked.  There were sometimes attacks by Plains Indians, who feared that the increasing flow of emigrants across their hunting grounds would disrupt the buffalo herds.

    Task:

         You and your family work a small farm on the banks of the Mississippi River.  You believe that there are better opportunities for your family in California.  You are going to prepare a persuasive argument to convince your family to move west.  PowerPoint presentations should include pictures, statistics, quotes, first-hand accounts, and any other expert opinion to make your argument more persuasive.  

    Step #1 - Research the westward movement of emigrants in the mid-1800s.

    A)    Why people chose to move to the Pacific coast and the routes they took.- MAPS

    B)    Information concerning the hardships of travel in covered wagons, problems presented by the weather, lack of supplies, and Native American attacks

    C)    Two first-hand accounts discussing the hardships

    Step #2 - Describe what travel will be like on the Oregon Trail.

    A)    Getting started –what supplies will you need

    B)    Explain points of interest (places you can stop and rest and get supplies) on your journey on both trails- at least 4 places

    C)    Two first-hand accounts about the rest stops 

    Step #3 - Explain the advantages that you believe await your family in California

    A)    How life will be better

    B)    GOLD RUSH- INFO, STATS

    C)    Two first-hand accounts about life in California

    Step #4 – Using the three most persuasive points of your argument, (use step #1, Step #2, and step #3) create a speech that will persuade your family to go on the trip.  Be sure to include a persuasive introduction and conclusion paragraph.


    Criteria

    3

    2

    1

     

     

     

     

    Explanation x 2

     

    Gives clear and persuasive reasons in support of traveling west.

    Reasons are strongly supported by research

    Excellent explanation of first hand-accounts

    Gives clear reasons in support of traveling west.

    Reasons are supported by some research

    Fair explanation of first- hand accounts

    Gives poor reasons in support of traveling west. 

    Reasons have very little support from research

    Poor explanation of first-hand accounts

    Research/ Evidence

    Provides excellent and sufficient factual evidence- both web and paper source

    Evidence is cited in presentation

    Relevant first-hand accounts selected

    Provides fair and sufficient factual evidence- both web and paper source

    Most evidence is cited in presentation.

    Somewhat relevant first-hand accounts selected

    Provides poor and insufficient factual evidence. Only uses one source

    No first-hand accounts

    Overall

    Presentation is engaging and persuasive

    Presentation is visually stimulating.

    Presentation is backed up with research (quotes, pictures, primary source documents, charts)

    All group members participate

    Presentation is clear and understood.

    Presentation uses some visuals. 

    Presentation uses some research.

    Most group members participate.

    Presentation is weak.

    Presentation has few visuals.

    Presentation has little research

     

     

     

     

    Exemplary

    4

    Proficient

    3

    Needs Improvement

    2

    Deficient

    1

    Weight x Score

    Ideas and Content

    Clearly addresses the prompt.

     

    Uses clear and convincing reasoning, details, text-based evidence, and/or description.

    Addresses the prompt.

     

    Uses clear reasoning, details, text-based evidence, and/or description.

    Somewhat addresses the prompt.

    Uses some reasoning, details, text-based evidence, and/or description.

    Limited attempt to address the prompt.

     

    Uses inadequate reasoning, details, text-based evidence, and/or description.

     

    Weight:



    X2

    Organization

    Response demonstrates purposeful coherence, clarity, and cohesion.

     

    Includes a strong introduction, conclusion, and a logical, well-executed seamless progression of ideas, making it easy to follow.

    Response demonstrates coherence, clarity, and cohesion.

     

    Includes an introduction, conclusion, and a logical progression of ideas, making it fairly easy to follow.

    Response demonstrates lapses in organization, coherence, and flow of ideas.

    Response is poorly organized, lacks focus; problems with coherence and flow of ideas.

    Weight:

     

     

    Conventions

    Generally free of most mistakes in grammar, word usage, and mechanics

    Contains some mistakes in grammar, word usage, and mechanics

    Contains many mistakes in grammar, word usage, and mechanics

    Grammar, word usage and mechanical mistakes are frequent and interfere with meaning.

    Weight:

    Word Choice

    Words and phrases are precise and concise.

     

    Avoids vague

    language

     

    Words convey the appropriate tone, mood, and formality.

    Occasionally uses inconsistent formality

     

    Uses some vague language

    Frequently uses inconsistent formality

    Formality and tone do not match the topic.

     

    Overuses vague words

     

    Uses texting abbreviations

    Weight:

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip