This is the "Books & eBooks" page of the "Social Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Issues  

Research topics in social issues
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2015 URL: http://dedham.libguides.com/SocialIssues Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 

DHS Library Catalog - Search for Books & eBooks

Try putting the words: issues and controversies into the search engine as a keyword search.

Search by SERIES for opposing viewpoints / current controversies / at issue.

eBooks are also available in the library catalog...you will find them easily.  eBook results can be identified by a blue book icon with an e on the front. eBook

Gale eBooks

  • GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Search our collection of E-reference books in a range of subjects including covering the arts, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.
    ***Select Social Science from the subject list on the left to see books related to the Social Issues Research Project.***

Online Encyclopedias

Encylcopedias can be a great source to consult when beginning a research project.  They can provide a brief overview of a topic as well as provide related search terms.

 

Social Issues Reference Books (PRINT)

The following PRINT sets are available in the Reference Area of the DHS Library.  Call #s are listed below.

Cover Art
Social Issues in America - Ciment, James
Call Number: REF 361.973 SOC
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006
Contains alphabetized articles on approximately 160 social issues in the U.S., describing their histories, major aspects, and debates and controversies, and provides a chronology, further reading list, glossary, and documents with each.

Cover Art
Global Social Issues - James Ciment (Editor); Christopher G. Bates (Editor)
Call Number: REF 361.003 GLO
ISBN: 9780765682925
Publication Date: 2012
Examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Covers a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, immigration, etc.

 

Social Issues Reference eBooks

Access to the following eBook Reference Sets is provided by DHS Library.  Please contact the library for the SOLR remote access username/password.

Cover Art
Social Issues in America - James Ciment (Editor)
Call Number: eBook version
ISBN: 0765680610
Publication Date: 2006-02-22
Contains alphabetized articles on approximately 160 social issues in the U.S., describing their histories, major aspects, and debates and controversies, and provides a chronology, further reading list, glossary, and documents with each.

Cover Art
Global Social Issues - James Ciment (Editor); Christopher G. Bates (Editor)
Call Number: eBook version
ISBN: 9780765682925
Publication Date: 2012-10-05
Examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Covers a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, immigration, etc.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip