This is the "Books & eBooks" page of the "Depression-Era Culture - Ms. Lydon" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Depression-Era Culture - Ms. Lydon  

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://dedham.libguides.com/DepressionEraCulture Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 

DHS Library Catalog

Search by Keywork or Subject to find books available at the DHS Library.

eBooks are also available in the library catalog...you will find them easily.  eBook results can be identified by a blue book icon with an e on the front. eBook

Gale eBooks

  • GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Search our collection of over 500 full-text E-reference books in a range of subjects covering the arts, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias can be a great source to consult when beginning a research project.  They can provide a brief overview of a topic as well as provide related search terms.

 

Reference Books PRINT

Cover Art
The Thirties in America - Thomas T. Lewis
Call Number: REF 973.917 LEW
ISBN: 9781587657252
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
A 3 volume set featuring alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on important people, places, events, developments, and things that shaped America during the 1930s.

Cover Art
Great Events from History: The 20th Century, 1901-1940 - Robert F. Gorman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 909.82 GRE
ISBN: 9781587653247
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Contains essays that examine significant events in the history of the early twentieth century from 1901 to 1940, covering world politics, society and culture, literary movements, art and music, immigration, and legislation; arranged chronologically with maps, illustrations, and quotations for primary source documents.

Cover Art
American Decades, 1930-1939 - Manly
Call Number: REF 973.91 GAL
ISBN: 0810357259
Publication Date: 1995-09-08
An exploration of American life from 1930 through 1939, looking at key people, events, and topics in the arts, business and the economy, education, fashion, government and politics, law, lifestyles and social trends, media, medicine and health, religion, science and technology, and sports.

Cover Art
Rosie and Mrs. America - Catherine Gourley
Call Number: REF 305.4097 GOU
ISBN: 9780822568049
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Explores how images in the media, including magazine advertisements and mail order catalogs, influenced how women saw themselves and helped them to be both fashionable and frugal in the 1930s and 1940s.

Cover Art
Social History of the United States - Brian Greenberg; et al.
ISBN: 9781598841275
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
SEE 1930s VOLUME
A social history of the United States, providing a decade-by-decade look at social movements and events in religion, culture, art, and the economy as they affected the daily lives of ordinary citizens, and including biographies, sidebars, time lines, charts, photographs, and listings of references and further readings.

 

eReference Books (eBOOKS)

Cover Art
The Thirties in America - Thomas T. Lewis
ISBN: 9781587657252
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
***Ask Librarian for Password***
eBook version of this 3volume set featuring alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on important people, places, events, developments, and things that shaped America during the 1930s.

Cover Art
Great Events From History: The 20th Century, 1901-1940 - Robert F. Gorman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781587653247
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
***Ask Librarian for Password***
eBook version - Contains essays that examine significant events in the history of the early twentieth century from 1901 to 1940, covering world politics, society and culture, literary movements, art and music, immigration, and legislation; arranged chronologically with maps, illustrations, and quotations for primary source documents.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression - Robert S. McElvaine
ISBN: 9780028659084
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
This 2-vol. set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.

Cover Art
American Decades Series - Vincent Tompkins (Editor); Victor Bondi (Editor)
ISBN: 1414411162
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
10 volume set
Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).

Cover Art
American Decades Primary Sources - Cynthia Rose (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787665876
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
10 volume set
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Cover Art
U X L American Decades - Tom Pendergast; Sara Pendergast; Rob Nagel
ISBN: 9780787693121
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
10 volume set
This series covers 20th-century events and social history beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999, written expressly for middle school students. Each decade is covered in one volume. Topics for each decade include: Headline Makers, Topics in the News, Arts and Entertainment, Business and the Economy, Education, Government, Politics, and Law, Lifestyles and Social Trends, Medicine and Health, Science and Technology, and Sports.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip